FEDARENE (European Federation of Agencies and Regions for Energy and Environment) is the first European network of regional and local organizations which implement, co-ordinate and facilitate energy and environment policies. Regional and local agencies, regional governments and departments working in these fields, are represented in FEDARENE. FEDARENE, an international non-profit association set up in 1990 at the initiative of 6 European regions, now has 70 member regions from 20 European Union countries and Norway.

FEDARENE was founded in 1990 at the initiative of Rhône-Alpes, Provence-Alpes-Cote-d’Azur, Wallonia, País Vasco, Aquitaine and Nord-Pas-de-Calais, who wanted to strengthen the local and regional dimension in energy environmental policies at European level. Thus: ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ” ‘ of the needs, can lead to efficient energy management;

The missions of the European Federation of Agencies and Regions for Energy and Environment are to facilitate the development of interregional exchanges, partnerships and cooperation; to help the European regions to develop their capacity to take action and to represent and promote the regional and local dimension in EU energy and environment debates. FEDARENE is currently involved in several European projects. Among them we have STREETLIGHT-EPC, EEW3Energy Efficiency Watch, Data4Action, ManagEnergy, and COOPENERGY. FEDARENE is also a member of the Covenant of Mayors Office. More projects are available on the website, projects section. Biogas (Biogas-Regions), biomethane (Biomethane-Regions), regional greenhouse gas observatories (Climact-Regions), sustainable rural development (SERVE). Climact REGIONS project also spawned Energee-Watch, the European network of regional energy observatories and greenhouse gas. FEDARENE is currently responsible for the coordination of the network and has made a valuable contribution in its creation.

The Board of Directors is made up of 16 members of the General Secretary, 13 Vice-Presidents, a Secretary and a Treasurer. The Board’s members are representatives of the following Regions / Provinces: North West Croatia (HR), Provence-Alpes-Cote d’Azur Region (FR), Berlin (DE), Rhône-Alpes (FR), Oberösterreich Energiesparverband (AT), Regional Council Nord-Pas de Calais (FR), Abruzzo (IT), Ile-de-France (FR), Ploiesti Prahova (RO), Comunidad Valenciana (ES), Central Finland (FI), Severn Wye Energy Agency (UK) , Liguria (IT), Southeast Sweden (SE), Wallonia (BE).